Skip to main content

Leave. Adapt. Survive

Crimea - Donbas - Ukraine

I visited a distribution hub for clothes, food and medicine in 2015. The internally displaced people crowded around opposite the gates waiting for its opening, whereas the Kyiv residents delivered all possible packages of treatment to a special window. Both parties sometimes came as whole families. Afterwards, they went away - some to their homes, and others back to the temporary camps, friend’s or a rented corner. Though, they continued to listen and read the hostility annals being afraid to hear not only about the Ukrainian army losses, but also to find out news about destruction of own house left in Donbass, or new invader’s legislative initiatives in Crimea.

The most vulnerable were the elderly people, large families and single mothers. This article is about them.

Quit cold to survive. Sayle

'Now I wouldn't let my family sleep on the floor'

- I don’t know how I would ride away now. Six years passed, and my priorities changed. For me nothing is more important than family, but my activity clearly endangered their life and health. And I wouldn't let my family sleep on the floor even today.

Sayle Ilyasova, aged 24, together with a 4-year-old son and an elderly mother ended up in an apartment being given refuge at friend’s place in Kyiv. A flat was being renovated and no furniture appeared there. Asya (ed. - Sayle) continued receiving the same blackmailing SMS and calls as before moving to mainland. It forced her to stuff everything that could fit into a friend’s car and quit cold a week ahead the referendum. However, her story did not end by moving. Sayle had experience in media sphere and fortunately, used some affiliations left in Kyiv. Nevertheless, her ex-husband managed after the divorce to grab even his son’s high chair.

- Crimea had reminded me of Abkhazia when I went filming it those times. Everything seemed to have died out.

The mainland Ukraine met her family with suspicion. Whereas the Russians patrolling all the entrances and exits from the peninsula let the resettlers pass through immediately, the Ukrainian border guards appeared differently. They forced people to get out of the cars, frisked and questioned for a long time. It should be mentioned that Russian equipment has already been trucked into Crimea, military units and weapons are being seized whereas Ukrainian flags are being removed. However, the lion's share of attention goes the other way. Crimean Tatar woman with her mother and a small child are trying to escape from the occupied territory.

Since February 2014, Sayle has been connected to the Zello system, which united activists without wiretapping calls by the special services. The same system was used by Maidan activists to coordinate efforts and transmit operational information about the street blocking in Kyiv.

Looking back, Sayle sees adolescent maximalism in her previous actions. Despite having the child, mother and responsibility for life and finances, her priority became to fight against aliens. Each history of national minority keeps a memory about the Genocides. If Jewish children grow up on stories about the Holocaust, Armenian ones on the Turkish massacre, the Crimean Tatars perceived this seizure of Crimea as another attempt to push people again in "teplushki" (ed. – cattle trains) and deport them to the concentration camps.

Therefore, Sayle forbade her mother to watch the news. She teamed up with other pro-Ukrainian activists and rushed to collect and transfer aid to our military and their families throughout Crimea.

- Post office employees seemed to turn us in when I received a package with body armors and other equipment. I passed the secret police to enter a military unit as a girl meeting a boyfriend and carrying a parcel. After visiting the post office once again, threats abruptly began.

Then appeared moving to Kyiv. Sayle started working in Krym SOS (ed. – Crimea SOS) in 2014. Pleas for help did not stop, but woman decided to share her work experience. It could be efficient to others.

Being unable to sell property in Crimea, having a blocked bank account by PrivatBank like other Crimean migrants, Sayle searched for a job among her community – it was KrymSOS, then ATR TV channel. Losing firm ground, there comes a huge desire to stick to own national roots, though she had to move on further.

Accept to survive. Zakhida

'Someone feeds you, gives clothes and shoes. and you accept it all because you can't make money on your own'

- On April 15, 2014, I ended up in a camp near Kyiv, a base location for internally displaced people. My world turned upside down. Quite recently I had everything - home, work, friends. You know I am active enough, and now here left nothing. Someone feeds you, dresses and puts on shoes. Unable to earn money on your own, I was forced to accept this help. Moreover, I remained alone with a daughter in arms, aged only 3.5 years old.

Her husband was the first to leave. Having settled easily in a refugee’s camp in Letki village near Brovary, he made Zakhida to move as family should be together. Meanwhile, referendum had already taken place in Crimea. Though a comfort work at school no longer seemed realistic for a pro-Ukrainian woman. Zakhida really desired to continue living and working as usual as always. But she ultimately encountered a forced inaction which had to be taken for granted.

Her spouse could not stand the changes. As often happens in moments of cataclysms, the family began to break up, and the husband came to deceive a wife. Zakhida found out about happening six months later. During the divorce, once I received a message from an unfamiliar phone number. It said, "Call Mom." A former neighbor told later that my father kicked mother out of the house. Barely moving after a brain hemorrhage, my mother somehow reached a neighbor’s place. I had to do something.

In January 2015, Zakhida managed to transport her mother to Kyiv. However, appeared new challenges such as problems with health, insane expenses on treatment, nursing mom, then dealing with papers, documents, and registration. In addition, personal health problems appeared as well.

- I thought if I sat down, cried out and screamed, finally nothing would change. Therefore, I said screw it and entered a PhD program.

Move to survive. Masha

'He understood everything at the age of 4, I don’t know how and why'

When collecting our stuff, my son Yan told me: “Mom, let’s take my new Lego. We will sell it later if there is no money." He, aged 4, understood and reliased everything. I don't even know how or why, but we abandoned that constructor as nowhere was to put it.

Masha left up Donetsk by last train. She and her child had already spent a month being scared to go outside by then. Her boyfriend broke the news as follows: "Today armored people with guns came to our theater". Even getting to the train station was a living hell for them. Transiting the Donetsk region, Masha thought all the passengers might be either dropped off or banned to further go on, or officers could take away small belongings. Most of all, the woman frightened of not being allowed to start her life from scratch.

Finally, it turned out to break out. Masha was sheltered by friends in a small bedsit. It was impossible to live that way, and a month later a woman rented the first apartment on her last few cents. Unfortunately, it didn’t prevent her family from a quick break up. Where our female character saw opportunities, her husband noticed only difficulties. Anyway, everyone went to solve issues in its own way.

All this time, the landlords’ attitude was aggressive and unpunished. Within three years I had to move and change schools for four times. Nobody was pleased to deal with Donetsk people, especially if they had children. In addition, school met my first grader worst of all.

My being a special educator came in handy. Masha literally cleared up TV news. Not only classmates, but also teachers told her son fakes about the problematic Donetsk citizens and brand-new arrivals. The stories about financial assistance to resettlers only fueled hatred among non-refugees. Masha continued working and looking for money. Once she even tried to refuse compensations, just not to fill out a number of documents taking time and nerves.

- What is 440 UAH to me? I have to cover a rented apartment, food expenses and utility services payments. It was not enough. Everything else seemed to be a time waster. I had a lot of plans and work to finish, but the social service officers literally talked me out of it.
I was both a journalist, a teacher, and a psychologist. Masha multitasked. She got tired and then decided to move in another direction.

A Matter of habit

I'm not a victim of circumstance

In 2014, Zakhida gratefully accepted help from Sayle living at the refugee’s camp. In 2019, Masha photographed both Samira, Zakhida's daughter, and my daughter Mara for a school album.

Thin and tiny Saile still looks like an 18-year-old absolutely not coming across as a mother and a family’s head. At first glance she looks irresponsible. Now Sayle has construction works in her future apartment near Kyiv and has already saved up for a car. She is also a mother of two children. Searching supporters brought a girl to meet up with her daughter’s father. But there were no happy ends. Even today she alone takes care of family. The child's father abandoned accepting any responsibility. His commitment did not call for providing any financial assistance.

Sayle has a small production of advertising knitwear. Luckily, the quarantine didn't scare her. “We started to make pretty masks and re-equipped the way of production. Someone sews at home now, but everyone receives some money. How could it be otherwise?” says Sayle.

Legislation hinders her rather than helps. Her mother has never got her pension as it causes a range of problems and takes much time to register. Sayle was issued a refugee’s certificate just before daughter’s birth in order to be accepted to the maternity hospital and later to receive a birth certificate. By the way, returning to Crimea is definitely closed for her, not so much technically as morally.

Masha graduated from the photography courses. She bought equipment on first-earned money, and for a year has been freelancing as a photographer. Everything works out. Yan has found both a normal school and friends and he plays chess.

Zakhida looked for chance to get a loan. As a result, she rented an office on her own in Kyiv and started an English school. Over time, she managed to find a small flat. Her ex-husband, a religious fanatic, disappeared somewhere with his new spouse and a huge child support debt. Samira, aged 9, became the winner of the World Championship on Mental Arithmetics in Antalya, Turkey (an amazing ability to count a great deal of numbers mentally). She speaks Crimean Tatar and performs folk-dances. They will not return to Crimea either.

Six years later, none will see them as the refugees with limited prospects for development and certificates supplementing their passports. This redemption story with one suitcase is known only to a close circle. They consider themselves to be like everyone else.

Рубрика "Гринлайт" наполняется материалами внештатных авторов. Редакция может не разделять мнение автора.

Дневник переселенца. Переживаем в текстовом режиме весь эмоциональный диапазон

А вот и продолжение «Записок переселенца». Эта часть может растрогать, разозлить и, надеемся, вдохновить.

У самурая нет цели, есть только путь. Мы боремся за объективную информацию.
Поддержите? Кнопки под статьей.

Перейти к основному содержанию

Уехать, адаптироваться, жить

Крым - Донбасс - Украина

Я побывала на пункте раздачи вещей, еды и лекарств в 2015 году. Переселенцы собирались толпой перед воротами в ожидании открытия, а жители Киева несли посильную помощь в специальное окошко. Обе стороны приходили иногда целыми семьями. Потом расходились – одни к себе домой, а другие обратно во временные санатории, к знакомым, в арендованный угол. И продолжали слушать и читать хронику боевых действий, боясь услышать не только о потерях украинской армии, но и узнать о разрушении собственного дома, оставшегося на Донбассе, или новых «законодательных инициатив» оккупантов в Крыму.

Самыми уязвимыми оказались старики, многодетные семьи и одинокие мамы. О них этот текст.

Уехать, чтобы выжить. Сайле

— Не знаю, как уезжала бы сейчас. Прошло шесть лет, изменились приоритеты: для меня нет ничего важнее семьи, а я явно несла угрозу их жизни и здоровью своей активностью. И я бы сейчас не позволила своей семье спать на полу.

В 24 года Сайле Ильясова с 4-летним сыном и пожилой мамой оказалась в квартире, где ее приютили знакомые киевляне. В квартире шел ремонт и не было мебели. Еще некоторое время Ася получала те же шантажирующие SMS и звонки, что и до переезда на материк. Тогда все это вынудило ее запихнуть в автомобиль к знакомым все, что могло влезть, и уехать еще за неделю до «референдума». Однако на переезде история не завершилась. На тот момент у Сайле был опыт работы в продакшне, остались знакомые в Киеве. И бывший муж, который при разводе забрал даже детский стульчик.

— Уже тогда Крым напомнил мне Абхазию. Я ездила туда на съемки. Все будто вымерло.

Материковая часть Украины встретила ее семью с подозрением. Если россияне, уже тогда патрулировавшие все въезды и выезды с полуострова, пропустили переселенцев сразу, то украинские пограничники проявили себя по-другому. Их заставили выйти из машины, провели обыск, долго задавали вопросы. Ну действительно, вокруг уже российская техника вваливается в Крым, идет захват военных частей, оружия, снимают украинские флаги. Но львиная доля внимания идет не на то. Еще бы, крымская татарка с мамой и маленьким ребенком пытается сбежать с фактически оккупированной врагом территории.

С февраля 2014 года Сайле подключилась к системе Zello, имевшей возможность объединить активистов без прослушки звонков спецслужбами. Та же система использовалась активистами Майдана для согласования усилий и передачи оперативной информации о перекрытии улиц в Киеве.

Оглядываясь назад, сама Сайле видит в своих прежних поступках подростковый максимализм. Несмотря на ребенка, маму и ответственность за быт и финансы, приоритетом стала борьба с «чужими». В истории каждого национального меньшинства есть память о Геноцидах. Если еврейские дети вырастают на истории о Холокосте, армянские – о турецкой резне, то крымские татары восприняли захват Крыма как очередную попытку посадить весь народ в «теплушки» и вывезти в лагеря.

Поэтому Сайле запретила своей маме смотреть новости. А сама объединилась с другими проукраинскими активистами: поехала собирать и передавать помощь нашим военным и их семьям по всему Крыму.

— Мне кажется, нас сдали сотрудники почты, когда я получала посылку с бронежилетами и чем-то еще. На территорию военной части я проходила мимо «охранки» под видом девушки, которая идет к своему парню с передачкой. А вот после очередного посещения почты резко начались угрозы.

Потом был Киев. В 2014 году Сайле пришла на работу в Крым SOS. В том числе потому, что поток просьб о помощи не прекращался, а опыт у женщины уже был. И этот опыт мог пригодиться кому-то еще.

Без возможностей продать имущество в Крыму, с заблокированной, как у всех крымчан-переселенцев, картой приватбанка, Сайле искала работу у «своих». Крым СОС, затем канал АТР. Теряя почву под ногами, хочется держаться корней. Но надо было двигаться дальше.

Принять, чтобы выжить. Захида

— 15 апреля 2014 года я оказалась в санатории под Киевом, где была обустроена база для переселенцев. Мир перевернулся. Совсем недавно у меня был дом, работа, друзья, я же очень активная. А тут – ничего. Тебя кто-то кормит, одевает, обувает. Ты все это вынуждено принимаешь, потому что не можешь заработать самостоятельно. А на руках у тебя дочь: всего 3,5 лет.

Первым уехал муж. Обосновавшись с легкостью в санатории в Летках под Броварами, он позвал Захиду переехать. Семья должна быть вместе, в Крыму уже прошел «референдум». Проукраински настроенной женщине спокойная работа в школе уже не представлялась реалистичной, но очень хотелось жить и работать. Как привыкла, как всегда. Но в итоге она получила вынужденное бездействие, которое надо было принять, как данность.

Супруг не выдержал изменений. Как часто и происходит в моменты катаклизмов, семья начала распадаться – муж начал гулять. Захида узнала о происходящем спустя полгода. В процессе развода получила SMS с незнакомого номера: «Позвони маме». Бывшая соседка рассказала, что отец выгнал свою жену из дома. Еле передвигаясь после инсульта, мама с документами добрела до соседки. Надо было что-то делать.

Потому в январе 2015 года Захида перевозит мать в Киев. Начинаются проблемы с лечением, безумные затраты, выхаживание мамы, бумаги, документы, оформления. Начинаются личные проблемы со здоровьем.

— Подумала, от того, что я сейчас сяду и наконец-то заплакав и закричав, ничего не изменится. И решила, «горит сарай, гори и хата». Так я поступила в аспирантуру.

Двигаться, чтобы жить. Маша

— Когда мы собирали вещи, Янчик мне сказал: «мама, давай возьмем мой новый Lego. Мы его потом продадим, если денег не будет». Он все понимал в четыре года. Даже не знаю, как и почему. Но мы оставили конструктор, его было некуда класть.

Маша выезжала из Донецка последними поездами. К тому моменту она с ребенком уже месяц провела в страхе выйти на улицу. Новости от гражданского мужа выглядели примерно так: «сегодня к нам в театр приходили люди с автоматами». Даже путь на вокзал был сущим адом. Пока ехали по Донецкой области, Маше казалось, что сейчас всех пассажиров высадят, запретят, отберут даже их небольшой скарб. Но больше всего женщина боялась, что ее не допустят к новым возможностям – начать все заново.

Вырваться получилось. Машу приютили знакомые в маленькой угловой гостинке. Жить так было невозможно, и через месяц на остаток от вывезенных средств Маша сняла для семьи первую квартиру. Но саму семью это не спасло  она быстро распалась. Там, где наша героиня видела возможности, ее муж замечал лишь проблемы. Так и случилось, каждый пошел решать вопросы своим путем.

Все это время отношение арендодателей было агрессивным и безнаказанным. За три года пришлось переезжать и менять школу четырежды. Донецких никто не хотел видеть. А уж тем более  с детьми. Но хуже всего первоклашку встретила школа. И здесь пригодился опыт коррекционного педагога: Маша буквально расхлебывала новости из телевизора. Не только одноклассники, но и учителя рассказывали ребенку о «проблемных донецких» и понаехавших. Рассказы о том, что переселенцам оказывают финансовую помощь, лишь подогревали ненависть. А сама Маша в это время работала, искала деньги. И даже пыталась отказаться от доплат, лишь бы не заполнять гору документов, отнимающих время и нервы.

— Что мне эти 440грн? У меня аренда квартиры, еда, коммуналка. Только время отнимало. У меня было много планов и много работы. Но девочки в соцслужбе буквально уговорили.

И журналист, и педагог, и психолог. Маша хваталась за все. Устала. И решила двигаться в другом направлении.

Дело привычки

В 2014 году Захида благодарно принимала помощь от Сайле в санатории. В 2019 году Маша фотографировала Самиру, дочь Захиды, и мою дочку Мару для школьного альбома.

Худая и крохотная Сайле и сегодня выглядит на 18 лет, вовсе не производя впечатления мамы и главы семейства. Вид у нее, на первый взгляд, безответственный. Но на самом деле, Сайле делает ремонт в своей будущей квартире под Киевом и накопила на машину. Кстати, детей у нее уже двое. Поиск «своих» свел переселенку с отцом будущей дочери. Но никаких хэппи-эндов не бывает: даже сегодня она одна тянет семью. Отец ребенка растворился, не приняв ответственности, а серьезность намерений не обязала его даже к финансовой помощи.

Сейчас у Сайле небольшое производство рекламного трикотажа. И карантин не напугал ее. «Мы начали делать симпатичные маски, переоборудовали производство. Кто-то шьет на дому сейчас, и все получали какие-то деньги. А как же иначе?», — говорит Сайле.

Законодательство ей скорее мешает, чем помогает. Пенсию мама так и не оформила, слишком много проблем и времени. А справку переселенца женщина оформила уже перед рождением дочки, иначе не принимал роддом — да и не выдавали свидетельство о рождении дочки, уже киевлянки. Но путь на Крым для нее точно закрыт. Не столько технически, сколько морально.

Маша закончила курсы фотографии. Купила на заработанные деньги технику, уже год работает лишь на себя – как вы догадались, фотографом. И все получается. Ян тем временем обрел нормальную школу и друзей, играет в шахматы.

Захида долго искала возможности кредита. В итоге сняла помещение в Киеве и открыла свою школу английского. А со временем успела присмотреть маленькую квартиру, в которой мечтает когда-нибудь сделать ремонт. Бывший муж, религиозный фанатик, где-то исчез со своей новой женой и огромным долгом по алиментам. А дочь Самира в 9 лет стала победителем всемирной олимпиады по соробану (удивительное умение считать огромное количество чисел в голове), говорит на крымскотатарском и танцует национальные танцы. Но возврата в Крым у нее тоже не будет.

Спустя шесть лет никто не увидит в них переселенцев с ограниченными возможностями для реализации и справками за обложкой паспорта. Эта история побега с одним чемоданом известна только близкому кругу. Они считают себя такими, как все.

Рубрика "Гринлайт" наполняется материалами внештатных авторов. Редакция может не разделять мнение автора.

Дневник переселенца. Переживаем в текстовом режиме весь эмоциональный диапазон

А вот и продолжение «Записок переселенца». Эта часть может растрогать, разозлить и, надеемся, вдохновить.

У самурая нет цели, есть только путь. Мы боремся за объективную информацию.
Поддержите? Кнопки под статьей.

''отсканируй
и помоги редакции

Become a Patron!

Загрузка...